I’ll admit, when I saw the cover of the premier issue of Ultimate X, I was a little apprehensive. After seeing Wolverine die during Ultimatum, I had no idea how they were going to explain the existence of someone else with claws. That’s not really a mutant ability that a writer is going to give someone without connection to Wolverine. I just wasn’t sure how they were going to explain his existence and why he appeared to be a high school kid.

Of course I should have realized immediately that he would be explained as Wolverine’s son, Jimmy. In my defense, I haven’t been reading comics for TOO long, but I still should have seen that coming. While it may not be the most imaginative back-story, it’s certainly not a completely ridiculous or implausible origin. I’m willing to overlook this mostly because this issue left me feeling quite optimistic about where this book could be going, and also because, let’s face it, Wolverine is such an omnipresent character that Marvel would be stupid to not have someone like him in their running comics. If he ends up acting a lot like Wolverine, it’s easy enough to attribute that to his genes (since, hell, he already got the mutant one!).

What I enjoyed about this first issue was something I’m sure some people didn’t like. I love seeing superheroes discover their abilities, then proceed to learn to cope with their abilities and use them for the good (or ill) of mankind. For some reason, these stories don’t get old for me. I don’t think it was any coincidence that Kitty Pryde was the one to deliver Wolverine’s message to his son. While, yes, Wolverine and Kitty fought together on numerous occasions and become close teammates, I think there’s another reason she was there. While she’s certainly not the only mutant to be approached by an X-Man and given the mutant spiel in any of Marvel’s universes, she’s probably the most iconic. A lot of what she was telling Jimmy felt very similar to the conversations I imagine Scott or Jean giving her during her recruitment. I thought this was an interesting way to come full circle for Kitty Pryde’s character.

At the end of this issue, I found myself wanting to see not only where Jimmy goes from here, but also what Kitty decides to do. I can’t help but wonder if she’ll attempt to take Jimmy under her wing and try to teach him some of the lessons, both in and out of battle that Wolverine taught her. Will Jimmy even be receptive to anything she wants to teach him? Or will he have more of his father’s gruff exterior to him than we got to see in this issue? Also, what’s the meaning behind the additional abilities that Jimmy seems to have that his father did not? Regardless, I’m going to keep watch on just how this story unfolds.

