The Heavy Rain demo hit PSN a couple of weeks ago, but I find myself still thinking about it. It was so different than nearly every game that has come out in years. Since the first screenshots were released, we’ve all been well aware that this game was going to look good. The demo did not disappoint. Despite a few not so beautiful textures, the game looks fantastic. The game has an incredible atmosphere about it. It feels very much like the murder mystery that it’s been hyped up to be.

I can certainly understand why some people won’t enjoy this game like I enjoyed the demo. The demo certainly moved at a slow, methodical pace. Many people will feel that the game is simply plodding along at an unbearable pace, but I have no problem with that if it’s done well. I believe the developers will fill those lulls with either unique control sequences or intriguing character building moments. There’s a certain frame of mind that is needed going into this game. You’ve got to be prepared to sit back and let the game take over. It’s an extremely interesting change of pace. I know people will say that’s not a game, but really it’s just a different kind of game than we’ve seen lately. I’m quite interested to see how this murder mystery plays out in this unique game.

